CPLI education requirements

To be accepted as an ALUCA CPLI Member, education requirements must be met. The level of education qualifications helps determine the possible level of CPLI membership

EDU points (education points) are a mandatory requirement for each levels a CPLI membership, as follows: 

CPLI levelEDU points required
Affiliate 1 – 3 
Associate 4 – 7 
Associate Fellow 8 + 
Fellow 9 + and 1 published paper 

What courses qualify for EDU points? 

EDU points are awarded for courses based on the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) that also align with ALUCA’s Life Insurance Competency Framework.  

The AQF regulates all Australian qualifications and officially defines the level of education that each qualification title represents. Examples are Cert IV, Diploma, Grad Diploma, Degree, Masters etc, where the qualification title also relates to the number of years spent studying, the level and the competencies/curriculum studied. 

Award courses all have formal testing of the course content and or competencies. Those courses with specific life insurance industry focus are given greater weighting.  

Other courses that have been assessed by ALUCA’s education board which provide formal testing of competencies at the end of the course will also count. Some examples include G&T Risk Management’s full Underwriting course (equivalent to diploma level) and Sydney Eye Hospital’s medical terminology course. 

Reinsurer courses and other short courses will not qualify for education points if they don’t have one of: 

  • Formalised testing 
  • Assessment processes 
  • Framework to test competency or curriculum at the end of any module 

However, ALUCA’s Board, Education Director and Education committee/panel will also determine whether a specific program could be accepted if it can be proven to meet ALUCA’s competency framework standards. These will be treated on a case-by-case basis; it is up to the individual to provide proof and highlight the links to their competencies. 

The list of suitable courses and activities is constantly being refined and updated to reflect evolving development activity, it also relates to the AQF. The most current list is in the following table.  

EDU points for educational qualifications

EDU points are calculated upon completion of these programs: 

Academy of Life Underwriting (ALU) ALU101 
ALU Medical risk assessment principals (MRAP) Exam 1 1.5 
ALU Medical risk assessment principals (MRAP) Exam 2 1.5 
ANZIIF Cert IV in Life Insurance 
ANZIIF Diploma of Life Insurance 
ANZIIF Diploma of Personal Injury Management 
ANZIIF Diploma in Financial Planning or Risk Management 
Chartered Insurance Institute (CII) Certificate in Insurance 
CII Diploma in Life Insurance 
CII Advanced Diploma in Insurance 
CII Fellowship 
G&T Risk Management Trainee UW program-with exams, assessed at Diploma level (40 assessable modules) 
Hospital/Provider approved by ALUCA ie. Sydney Eye Hospital Medical Terminology course – exam assessable 
Insurer Courses – approved courses by ALUCA education panel with exam assessable content. Please note these will be reviewed annually. OnePath- Claims trainee course-exam assessable 
TAL-Trainee Underwriting course-exam assessable 
AIA-Trainee Underwriting course 
KAPLAN Cert IV in Life Insurance-Underwriting 
KAPLAN Cert IV in Life Insurance – Claims 
KAPLAN Diploma in Financial Planning 
Personal Injury Education Foundation (PIEF) Cert IV of Personal Injury Management-Return to Work 
PIEF Cert IV of Personal Injury Management-Claims 
PIEF Diploma of Personal Injury Management 
PIEF Graduate Certificate in Personal Injury Management 
PIEF Master of Personal Injury Management 
Reinsurer Full Courses Completion of full set of claims modules or Underwriting modules ie. a minimum of 50+hours duration. Maximum of up to 1point only. 0.25 to 1 
University/TAFE Master of Business Administration/Master of Commerce 
University/TAFE Bachelor of Medicine/Medical Practitioner 
University/TAFE Bachelor of Accounting/Actuarial/Law 
University/TAFE Bachelor Nursing/Registered Nurse 
University/TAFE Bachelor Dietetics, Occupation Therapy, Physiotherapy 
University/TAFE Bachelor of Business/Commerce with a Major in Insurance 
University/TAFE Bachelor of Psychology, Rehabilitation Counselling, Social Work etc 
University/TAFE Other Allied Health Bachelor Degree or Graduate Diploma 
University/TAFE Bachelor of Business/Commerce with NO Major in Insurance 
University/TAFE Unrelated Tertiary degree ie. language degree, history degree etc Maximum of 3 points only to be claimed 1 to 3 
University/TAFE Other tertiary education that relates to specific business competencies specific to your role ie. Cert IV in Training and Assessment. Higher points are based on length of course and content 0.25 to 1 
Insurer or Reinsurer Approved Training program -as above – Please note that the maximum points are based on a long duration course that is assessable. 0.25 to 1 

NB: Please note that the criteria for the membership categories may be altered by the Board in future to ensure we align with the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF).  

The list of suitable courses and activities as well as the points table is also constantly being refined and updated to reflect evolving development activity and regulatory requirements of the life insurance industry.   

The ALUCA education panel will assess each application and the supporting qualifications submitted, reviewing the content and duration of courses, and how this relates to life insurance and the individual’s competencies and/or professional development.  

EDU points and CPD points – What’s the difference? 

EDU points are awarded for assessable awards courses that are based on the Australian Qualifications Framework – such as Graduate Certificate, Diploma, PhD Masters or Undergrad Degree, Masters, Cert IV – or other courses of a similar standard. 

CPD points activities are generally not associated with an assessable awards course. The CPD points program is designed to ensure existing ALUCA’s CPLI members, and regular ALUCA members, maintain a high-level of relevant, current learning, insight and expertise.  

For more information on each of these, refer to CPLI Levels.